Chinese cars in the UAE: eleven brands sell fully electric ones through a UAE seller

Most sellers, models, prices and warranties below come from each seller’s own UAE site, read in October 2026; the text names any other source. PlaidCars is not affiliated with any brand or dealer on this page and takes no commission from them.

Eleven Chinese brands sell fully electric cars through a named UAE seller: BYD, Zeekr, Smart, Geely, MG, XPeng, NIO, Hongqi, Avatr, GAC and Deepal. Denza, Voyah and Li Auto sell only plug-in hybrids or range extenders here. Gargash Prime Automotive has taken bookings for Xiaomi’s SU7 and YU7 since mid-October 2026; Gargash does not call itself Xiaomi’s dealer, and we found no statement from Xiaomi. UAE ads often call a plug-in hybrid or a range extender an “EV”, and some models carry one name in both kinds. On this page, electric means battery only, with no petrol engine, so this guide leaves out Chinese petrol cars.

Each question jumps to its answer

Comparing brandsWho sells what, and from how muchSee all eleven
Seeing “EV” in an adBattery only or plug-in?Read the words
Looking at an importChinese spec, no UAE warrantyKnow the trade-off
About to pay a depositFive checks firstRun the checks

Eleven Chinese brands sell fully electric cars through a UAE seller

Brand UAE seller Fully electric models listed A price on the seller’s site Warranty: car / battery
BYD Al-Futtaim Seal, Sealion 7, Han Seal from AED 149,900, VAT included Not published / 8 years, km not stated
Zeekr AW Rostamani (AWR Automotive) 001, X, 7X, 009 7X from AED 169,900, VAT not stated 001, X and 7X: 5 years or 120,000 km / 8 years or 160,000 km
Smart AW Rostamani (AWR Automotive) #1, #3, #5 #1 from AED 99,900, VAT included 5 years or 120,000 km / 8 years or 160,000 km
Geely AGMC EX5, Geometry C Not listed EX5, on an offer: 6 years or 150,000 km / 8 years or 200,000 km
MG Inter Emirates Motors MG4, Cyberster Cyberster from AED 237,803, VAT not stated; MG4 not listed 6 years or 200,000 km / 8 years or 200,000 km
XPeng Gulf Star Motors (Ali & Sons) G6, G9, P7+, X9, L03 G6 at AED 157,500 or 162,500 (the page shows both), VAT not stated Not published
NIO NIO’s own stores ET5, EC6, EL8 ET5 from AED 199,900, VAT included Only on an offer ending October 2026; ask NIO
Hongqi Altawkilat (Abu Dhabi); Germantech (Sharjah, Ras Al Khaimah, Fujairah) E-HS9; EH7 at Germantech only EH7 from AED 81,900, VAT included Altawkilat: 5 years or 150,000 km / 8 years or 160,000 km
Avatr Smart Mobility International 11, 12 11 at AED 245,000, trim and VAT not stated Avatr 12: 5 years / 8 years, no km limit
GAC Gargash Motors Aion V, Hyptec HT Aion V from AED 115,900; Hyptec HT from AED 139,900; VAT not stated Hyptec HT: 8 years, terms not given
Deepal Al Tayer Motors S07 EV Not listed 6 years or 150,000 km / 8 years or 150,000 km

Prices change, and several sellers do not say whether VAT is in, so ask for the on-the-road price in writing. “Not listed” means the seller’s site shows no price.

Hongqi has two official dealers with different stock. In October 2026, Altawkilat in Abu Dhabi listed a 2023 E-HS9 Comfort at AED 190,900. Germantech listed the same version from AED 299,900 for a 2024 car and AED 322,900 for a 2025 car, all with VAT. Ask any Hongqi dealer for the model year before you compare prices.

Gargash Prime Automotive has taken bookings for Xiaomi cars at Etihad Mall in Dubai since mid-October 2026: the SU7 sedan from AED 169,900 and the YU7 SUV from AED 184,900, VAT not stated. Launch reports put the first deliveries in December 2026 and a warranty of up to 5 years or 150,000 km. Gargash’s site does not call it Xiaomi’s dealer, and we found no statement from Xiaomi, so we leave Xiaomi out of the table.

Denza, Voyah and Li Auto sell only plug-in hybrids or range extenders here

These brands have a UAE seller, and none sells a fully electric car here:

  • Denza (Al-Futtaim): B5 and B8, both plug-in hybrids.
  • Voyah (Performance Plus Motors): Free, a range extender, and Dream, a plug-in hybrid.
  • Li Auto (Al Fahim Motors): L9, a range extender (Khaleej Times and CnEVPost, September 2026).

Yangwang’s U8 is also a plug-in hybrid (ZigWheels, October 2026); we found no named UAE seller for Yangwang. We found none for Leapmotor either.

An “EV” badge in an ad does not prove the car runs on battery alone

Chinese makers use their own words for cars with a petrol engine, and UAE ads repeat them:

  • EM-i, EM-P, PHEV, “Super Hybrid”: a plug-in hybrid. BYD’s UAE site labels each of its plug-in hybrids “Super Hybrid”.
  • REEV, EREV, “range extender”: an electric motor drives the wheels, and a petrol engine charges the battery.

Two names cover both kinds, so check the version name:

  • Deepal S07: sold as an EV and as a range extender.
  • Geely EX5 is electric; the EX5 EM-i is a plug-in hybrid.

Some brands sell both kinds under different names. The Avatr 11 and 12 are electric, and the Avatr 07 is a range extender. The Zeekr 001, X, 7X and 009 are electric, and the Zeekr 9X is a plug-in hybrid.

A grey import often comes without a UAE warranty

A grey import is a car a trader brought in from China, outside the brand’s UAE seller. Listings on sites such as DubiCars mark it “Chinese Specs” or “NON GCC”. A guide from Policybazaar UAE (July 2026) lists what often comes with such a car:

  • Warranty: often no valid UAE warranty.
  • Insurance: insurers price in longer repairs and harder-to-source parts, and some refuse comprehensive cover.
  • Software: menus and apps may be locked to another language or region.
  • Resale: it usually sells for less and takes longer to sell.

A Chinese brand bought new from its UAE seller is a GCC-spec car, and insurers price it like any other, according to the same guide. A China-spec car also has the Chinese GB/T plug, and UAE chargers use CCS2 or Type 2, so you need an adapter (every EV charger in the UAE). For a grey Xiaomi SU7, repairs can wait on parts from China (Alba Cars, June 2026).

Five checks cover the seller, warranty, insurance and plug before you pay a deposit

  1. Find the seller on the brand’s UAE site. If the brand’s site does not name the dealer, treat the car as a grey import.
  2. Read the spec line. “Chinese Specs” or “NON GCC” marks a grey import.
  3. Get the warranty in writing: who gives it, for how many years and kilometers, and where the car must be serviced.
  4. Get an insurance quote on the VIN before you pay.
  5. Check the plug and charge the car once. Tesla keeps every UAE Supercharger for Teslas, so use DEWA, ADNOC, UAEV and the other public networks.

Our read: buy from the UAE seller, because an import costs more than its price

I would buy a Chinese electric car from the brand’s UAE seller. Eleven brands give you that choice today, eight of them publish a battery warranty of 8 years, and several cost less than a Tesla Model Y (Tesla prices in the UAE). I would buy a grey import only for a model no UAE seller offers, and only after pricing the adapter and the insurance, and asking who repairs it. For a Xiaomi, I would ask Gargash in writing who gives the warranty before I paid.

We are adding Chinese electric and plug-in cars to the UAE asking prices we record, as we do for used Teslas. Once a make has 8 weeks of prices and 20 cars, we will add its used prices here.

Eleven Chinese brands sell fully electric cars here: five answers

Which Chinese electric car brands are sold officially in the UAE?

Eleven sell fully electric cars through a named UAE seller: BYD, Zeekr, Smart, Geely, MG, XPeng, NIO, Hongqi, Avatr, GAC and Deepal (sellers’ sites, October 2026). Denza, Voyah and Li Auto sell only plug-in hybrids or range extenders here.

Is Xiaomi sold officially in the UAE?

Not confirmed. Gargash Prime Automotive has taken bookings for the SU7 and YU7 since mid-October 2026, from AED 169,900 and AED 184,900. Gargash does not call itself Xiaomi’s dealer, and we found no statement from Xiaomi, so ask Gargash in writing who gives the warranty.

Do grey-import Chinese EVs have a warranty in the UAE?

Often not. A car a trader brought in from China may have no valid UAE warranty, and some insurers refuse it comprehensive cover. Get any warranty in writing and an insurance quote on the VIN before you pay.

Can Chinese electric cars use Tesla Superchargers in the UAE?

No. Tesla keeps every UAE Supercharger for Teslas, and the UAE is not on its list of markets open to other cars. Chinese EVs charge on DEWA, ADNOC, UAEV and the other public networks.

Is the BYD Atto 3 still sold in the UAE?

BYD’s UAE site no longer lists it (October 2026). Its fully electric models there are the Seal, Sealion 7 and Han; the Seal starts at AED 149,900 with VAT.

Scroll to Top